De Jong, Gustafson, Feenstra, named All-Americans

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2019 Division II Women’s Basketball All-America teams on Thursday. Maya Ah You Dias, senior guard for Eastern Oregon, was named National Player of the Year.

Maya Ah You Dias, Kendall Bradbury, Kelsie Cleeton and Philly Lammers return to the list again this year having earned First Team All-American in 2018 as well.

Several players made the jump from second and third team last year to 1st team this year. Kassidy De Jong of Northwestern (Iowa) earned Honorable Mention in 2018 and was rewarded First Team this year. De Jong, now a four-time All-American, was named to the 10-player first team. The senior guard ranked third in the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) in scoring at 18.4 points per game, reaching double figures in 32 of 34 games. De Jong was second in the conference in rebounding (7.8) and seventh in both field goal percentage (48%) and three-pointers made (74). De Jong finished her Red Raider career sixth in scoring (2,254), fifth in rebounding (955) and 24th in assists (230). A four-year starter, De Jong is also a two-time NAIA Scholar Athlete.

Earning the national honor for the first time, Gustafson completed her Northwestern career 12th in scoring (1,514), seventh in rebounding (866) and fifth in blocked shots (106). Also a four-year starter, Gustafson averaged 14.6 points and 7.8 rebounds per game this season, ranking ninth and tied for second in the GPAC, respectively. The senior shot 52% from the field, 75% from the free throw line and totaled 38 blocked shots. Gustafson is a two-time NAIA Scholar Athlete.

First Team

Name Institution Position

Kyendi Cheeseman Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G

Kassidy De Jong Northwestern (Iowa) G

Second Team

Name Institution Position

Sarah Carr Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) F

Shandra Farmer Hastings (Neb.) G

Erika Feenstra Dordt (Iowa) F

Third Team

Name Institution Position

Darbi Gustafson Northwestern (Iowa) C

Honorable Mention

Taylor Cockerill Condcordia (Neb.) G

Sierra Mitchell Morningside (Iowa) G

Rylie Osthus Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G

Head Coach Drew Olson of Concordia was named NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. Coach Olson led the Bulldogs to their first-ever national championship victory over Southeastern by a final of 67-59.