Hillbrands Honorable Mention All-American

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2019 Division II Men’s Basketball All-America teams on Thursday. Cameron Hunt, of Southwestern College named National Player of the Year.

Jay Wolfe of Briar Cliff, made huge strides from last year. Previously receiving Honorable Mention honors, Wolfe earned First Team All-American this season. Several players moved up from second and third team to first team in 2019. Those players include Ty Hoglund of Dakota Wesleyan.

Trent Hilbrands (Remsen, Iowa) earned honorable mention, Hilbrands proved to be one of the GPAC’s top scorers in his sophomore season, ranking fifth at 18.6 points per game. He scored in double figures in 25 of his 28 games played and turned in 13 20+point games. Hilbrands ranked sixth in the GPAC with 61 three-pointers, shooting 42% from beyond the arc, and dished out 69 assists.

Coach Ryan Cottingham of Spring Arbor was named the NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year. Cottingham lead the Cougars to their first-ever national title after a victory Tuesday night over Oregon Tech by a final of 76-82.

First Team

Name School Position

Ty Hoglund Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Forward

Jay Wolfe Briar Cliff (Iowa) Guard

Second Team

Name School Position

Tyler Borchers Morningside (Iowa) Center

Third Team

Name School Position

Kevin Oberweiser Jamestown (N.D.) Guard

Jon Purintun Jamestown (N.D.) Forward

Honorable Mention

Name School Position

Jackson Lamb Briar Cliff (Iowa) Guard

Nick Harden Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Guard

Bart Hiscock Hastings (Neb.) Center

Zach Imig Morningside (Iowa) Guard

Trent Hilbrands Northwestern (Iowa) Guard